SURPRISE! Rosario + Vampire Has Fanservice!

That has got to hurt.

Yes, I’m following up a post on Ookiku Furikabutte with Rosario + Vampire, which is a show about…panties. And more panties. And hamster-esque things with bat wings that announce that they are bats to the viewer. They do not have panties, but every other female in the show does. And boy, do you get to know that fact fast.

Seriously, that was a lot of panties. The show doesn’t shirk from the fact that it’s totally trashy and meant for a puerile audience. We didn’t even get thirty seconds into the first episode before there were two pantyshots. From a girl who has no name, and will not ever have a name since she existed for the sole purpose of flashing the viewer with panties. Twice. I’m dead serious when I say Rosario + Vampire is utterly shameless.

That may be, perhaps, why it’s moderately amusing in the first episode. The whole episode felt like the author of the original manga knew that he was writing a trashy manga, and so he just didn’t even bother trying to hide things and just made crap up. I’m certain that it’s only in anime-land where a school named “Youkai Gakuen” does not sound creepy and ominous to someone. I’m certain that most romance comedies don’t have declarations of love 12 minutes into the first episode. I’m pretty sure that is one hell of a long tongue that orc-person had. And his saliva looks suspicious…

I expected absolutely nothing but fanservice from this series, and that is exactly what I ended up with. The first episode was moderately amusing, mostly due to the fact that, again, I got the major impression that it just didn’t take itself seriously. It could have been a little more over-the-top, I guess, but it’s decent enough. At least it’s something to watch this semester when my brain is shot from my senior thesis and I need a spot of panties to get me through the day. It’s like tea for the British.

5 Responses to “SURPRISE! Rosario + Vampire Has Fanservice!”


  1. 1 Sesshoumaru 6 January 2008 at 9:44 am

    If you don’t like the panties (I don’t like it) than look somewhere else. For me the story is the most interesting part. Furthermore it is antimated quite superb and I’am looking forward to see more.

    PS: And I’am posting this while writing down my doctoral thesis. You loose.

  2. 2 OGT 6 January 2008 at 10:33 am

    Who says I didn’t like the panties?

    The story most likely won’t rise above the usual harem fare, and if it tries to do so, it’ll probably become less entertaining as we’ll all be too busy groaning at the bad writing.

    And this isn’t a bragging rights contest as to who’s further along in post-secondary education. This is an anime blog. Big difference.

  3. 3 animanachronism 8 January 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Tea makes my Mondays happen. In fact, it makes every day happen.

    The manga really didn’t have this many panties. Good point about the first girl – I didn’t see it quite in the terms that she only and solely existed for two pantyshots, but of course you’re right.

    Also, I was just appointed Professor of Cool in the Department of Win at the University of Life. So there.

  4. 4 OGT 8 January 2008 at 5:02 pm

    It would be great if every episode opened with random pantyshots of that girl. She would have no speaking role, she’d just exist to open the episode with a little white chiffon number.

    Gonzo probably saw a gap in panties in modern anime (dunno why, we just got finished with Goshuushou-sama Ninomiya-kun or whatever, but the fanservice in that doesn’t seem to really kick in until after the DVD episodes come out) and provided the viewer with glorious undergarments. It’s kind of nice to see a series be so intentionally tacky. Does nothing for the feminist in me, but other bits of me are quite pleased.

  5. 5 SuperDude526 4 August 2012 at 8:24 am

    Check out the manga, it’s of far higher quality and actually manages to take itself very seriously.


Leave a Reply

NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recent Songs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

