Taishou Yakyuu Musume Baseless Anticipation Post

So, after reading that Taishou Yakyuu Musume (which, by the way, I had not heard about prior to this point) is getting an anime adaptation, I became instantly overwhelmed with completely, utterly baseless and unjustified hype for it. Let me break it down for you:

Taishou (大正): Historical fiction! My history major blood is a-boil with the thought of a fictionalized peek into the origins of baseball on the Japanese islands, since the series takes place in 1925.

Yakyuu (野球): Baseball! I am still not a terribly huge sports fan of any kind, but baseball has always held a special kind of charm with me. Probably because I played it (badly) as a child. I’m good at hitting actual baseballs, still, kind of, but WiiSports Baseball totally screws with my head. The only kind of anime that could get me any more excited would be bowling anime. I’m not even sure that exists. It needs to.

Musume (娘): Girls! This one should be self-explanatory, although I’m hoping more for something more like Princess Nine than some kind of weird anime version of A League of Their Own. I’d be happy with Ookiku Furikabutte except with girls, though.

Speaking of musume, the designs are pretty cute, which both pleases and worries me. The series could go either way, given what little we know about it in the West (and even the Japanese web doesn’t seem to have a great deal of information upon casual investigation), but from reading the two positive reviews of the series on amazon.co.jp, I’m fairly certain it will be at least a decent, if not downright amazing, non-excessively-pandering look at the rise of baseball in Japan. Besides, Japan’s starting to pull away from series that pander and don’t really do much of anything else–even Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu, the obligatory panderfest of the season (aside from the new Zero no Tsukaima), is trying. Failing, but trying! I think they’ve finally hit the point where they’ve realized they need some weight behind the cute girls to actually get an audience these days.

At any rate, this news excited me far more than the announcement of a second FMA TV series did. Even though I didn’t (and still don’t) know much about the title at all.

And, hey, this kind of totally baseless anticipation worked for me with Toshokan Sensou, so why shouldn’t it work for Taishou Yakyuu Musume? Worst comes to worst, I can just go visit Mudville.

3 Responses to “Taishou Yakyuu Musume Baseless Anticipation Post”


  1. 1 issa-sa 22 August 2008 at 1:22 am

    You know, I have this feeling this series will be my Toshokan Sensou of the following season… Or at least my Ookiku Furikabutte (only with girls… well that’ll guarantee it a wider appeal that Mihashi I suppose)

  2. 2 OGT 22 August 2008 at 1:40 am

    I liked Ookiku Furikabutte, and I am a totally straight guy, so there. (Chiyo helped)
    .
    Sadly, I don’t think this is going to hit until at least Spring 2009. We might get lucky and see it this winter, but all that we know is that it’s been announced. I look forward to looking forward to it for six months again!

  3. 3 issa-sa 23 August 2008 at 8:06 am

    Oh, guess I must’ve mixed it up with that other baseball show that IS coming out next season… That looks nothing like this one -_-“


Leave a comment




NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recent Songs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031