true tears: The Rising Tide of Sorrow

Isn’t that post title cool? I don’t know what it has to do with anything, but it’s cool!

It struck me, or, rather, struck me for the eleventh time, while watching this episode that true tears is an incredibly complex show. The characters are all extremely complex, as I’ve mentioned before, and sometimes I think Nishimura leaves the viewer to infer certain key plot elements and specific character motivations. I think it’s a great example of why true tears is the best anime for the winter season, and may even be a better series than Simoun in the long run. Simoun was a brilliant series, and I love it to pieces, but it had the small problem of a lacklustre start and finish. Perhaps its the shorter length of true tears, but I genuinely think Nishimura learned from Simoun, and that, as a whole, has made true tears a much better series. Even if I don’t pick up on the tiny details all the time (I think I need a second or third watching to properly appreciate this series), I’m deeply impressed with the storytelling and direction of this series.

It’s extremely telling of Shin’ichiro that, when he’s finally got what he thought he wanted (a relationship with Hiromi, and sealed with a kiss, no less!) he finds  himself thinking not of Hirom, but instead of Noe. He’s changed over the course of the series in a subtle way, from someone who held a simple crush on Hiromi to someone who is deeply in love with Noe. He’s progressed, then, from a childish view of love, to a more mature perspective on the subject. It is clear, also, that the “ending” to his picture book is a good representation of his own inner turmoil, between his developing intimacy with Hiromi and the widening chasm between him and Noe. The next episode, the penultimate for the series, will no doubt be drama to its very core, and I don’t think there’s even the slightest doubt in my head it’s going to be screwed up, although, usually, if I’ve been enjoying a series throughout its run, I’m almost never let down by the finale, so it’s not really something I preoccupy myself with while watching a series.

And on minor characters: Miyokichi and Aiko are back together again, somewhat. Miyokichi is a great character who’s been getting some surprising depth over the past couple episodes. The whole process of dealing with the truth behind Aiko’s feelings must have been a torturous one, but he didn’t show it at all–he stood up for Shin’ichiro, despite Aiko’s affection for him, he even wanted to numb himself from the pain, but, in the end, his forgiving nature won over him, and he’s back in the saddle, so to speak. It’s a small subplot, but it’s a touching one.

Next episode: feathers. And possibly tears. I think it’ll be the climax, saving the last episode for denouement. But, hey, I could be wrong.

As long as Noe doesn’t jump, we’ll be all right.

5 Responses to “true tears: The Rising Tide of Sorrow”


  1. 1 Owen S 17 March 2008 at 5:06 pm

    You know, for all the negative reactions I’ve seen to this episode I believe that everyone was expecting Hiromi and Shin to behave like a typical new couple while the rest of the cast went and… cut themselves or something. But nooo, they had the gall to make them behave like real characters! How dare they!

    Sarcasm aside, I’d have to disagree with you on Noe. It seems to me like he’s having nothing more than flashback guilt over dumping her, from what I think is going on in his head. But hey, that’s just me. (: It’s all up in the air for now…

  2. 2 OGT 17 March 2008 at 9:29 pm

    I don’t really know about what’s going to happen next episode of true tears. That’s the beauty of the series–it doesn’t fall into predictability very often, or even at all.

    That said, my thoughts reflect my fervent hopes, which, to me, are the same as a thoughtful, reasoned analysis, because I’m boring like that.

  3. 3 usagijen 19 March 2008 at 11:00 am

    I don’t know if Shin’s reminiscence of the times he had with Noe is because of guilt, or a genuine love, which he’s only realizing now that she’s gone in his life (during the span of time she wasn’t able to see her).

    Whether Noe will end up with Shin or not, I just want to see Noe happy in the end, even if it turns out to be bittersweet >_<

  4. 4 TheBigN 26 March 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Well, you were mad prophetic here. :P

  5. 5 OGT 26 March 2008 at 6:13 pm

    We’ll find out just how prophetic I am tonight!


Leave a Reply

NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recent Songs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

