Toshokan Sensou [RAW]: I Wish to Wear Military Uniforms in the Library

Yes, it’s another raw review. This is how desperate I am.

The first episode of Toshokan Sensou/Library War was, in a word, amazing. This shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone, given my background (I work at a library doing basic but vital gruntwork and love every second of it and plan on being an actual, bona-fide librarian when I Grow Up, a time which is terrifyingly closer every day) but it was everything I hoped it to be. I knew going into it that the tone would be light, given the fact that Arikawa Hiro’s original light novel was a satire, but I didn’t know whether it’d be a satire that took itself seriously, yet was ludicrous, or a satire that took itself lightly, yet was serious. From the first episode, it’s clearly the latter, and it was so well done on the first part that I really no longer care if it does a good job on the second front, although, given the popularity, it probably does.

The reason for this is, of course, the fact that Kasahara Iku is a hardcore contender for Cutest Anime Librarian Ever, although I don’t quite know if she counts as a librarian. The only other major contenders I can think of are Kokoro from Kokoro Library, Yomiko Readman from Read or Die, Schieska from Fullmetal Alchemist, and Nodoka from Negima!. Needless to say, this is a terrifyingly potent list, and with Iku joining the ranks the world of anime librarians are about to be upended. Inoue Marina plays Iku perfectly, although that may be just because I like her voice in general. Iku is positively adorable and cements the pre-airing buzz I had for this series into a solid block of pure awesome.

The other reason I like it so much is the fact that it manages to pull off the tricky job of being seriocomic well. Episode 1 is highly amusing, and the parts where they weren’t being silly didn’t get in the way of the parts where they were hamming it up. It makes for an extremely leveled viewing experience, and I’m certain they’ve got the comic side of things down pat. The serio part will requuire subtitles and more episodes to properly judge, but I’ve got a lot of faith in Production I.G.’s effort despite the somewhat questionable track record of the director and the almost nonexistent track record of the writer (Hamana Takayuki and Konuta Takeshi, respectively).

Whether or not the series succeeds at the satire element or not, I’m pretty sure this will be a fun series to watch. The very concept amuses me greatly (librarians…with GUNS! and TASK FORCES!) so I don’t see how this will fail to be, at the worst, highly enjoyable light entiertainment. And, hey, if the satire element is good, that’s just better for me. I’m all about free speech and no censorship, so a success in the satire department will be extra grand. For all I know, the people at Production I.G. did demographic research and produced this series especially for me. But that’s a lie, because they probably have no idea who I am. But it feels that way.

5 Responses to “Toshokan Sensou [RAW]: I Wish to Wear Military Uniforms in the Library”


  1. 1 The Animanachronism 19 April 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Funnily enough, librarianship is a career I’ve been considering myself. Though I suspect this may be because literature students tend to cathect onto their librarians since they’re always encountered in proximity to books. But how ironic is it that we’re waiting so long for subs for an anime which is apparently about the control of information?

  2. 2 Impz 19 April 2008 at 10:45 pm

    And they are clearly looking out for me. Nonetheless, my current studies is on media economics, and the understanding of information control has always been something that interests me. Considering that Library War manages to make such a problematic concept a palatable concept is an amazing factor.

    If you want to understand what is going on with the episodes, you can jump on to my blog for a detailed raw summary or perhaps a bit of discussion about the logic behind the story. It’s not being rubbish.

  3. 3 OGT 19 April 2008 at 10:58 pm

    @Impz: I didn’t really think it was being rubbish–the bits that I caught were interesting. Production I.G. is doing this adaptation for a reason, so I’m not passing judgement on the story until I see it.

  4. 4 kai 14 March 2009 at 12:49 am

    Hi, I love toshokan senso

    My friends and I were thinking of doing a fandub, hopefully I’ll get to play Iku!

    So do you know where I could get the raws? It’s a little tricky to find them.

  5. 5 green coffee extract 24 July 2014 at 8:55 am

    It’s hard to come by experienced people in this particular subject, however,
    you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks


Leave a comment




NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recent Songs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930