It’s Time for the Beach Epiosde of My Life [vacation hiatus]

Vacation has sprung upon me like Minori upon a hapless Taiga, and, whilst I saw it coming, perhaps, it still struck me by surprise. I don’t think I’ve left very far from home in the past couple years (school and work kept me fairly tied down, to where a “vacation” meant “everyone else but me isn’t in the house so I can have sanity for a few days”), but now, for the next week and change I’ll be in Florida, enjoying the luscious sounds of beach white noise while I (probably) read books and forget that there’s some water nearby. (I’m taking twenty of the things. I will read maybe six or seven at the most. Selection!) I also packed along Honey & Clover for a rewatch, because why not?

Yes I know, I’ve not been writing as much lately–I keep getting hijacked by life, and even though I currently don’t seem to have much of it, I seem to spend more of it doing stuff that doesn’t really fit in here. I also appear to be regaining more of the Solitary Reading for Pleasure Experience®, which can never be a bad thing.

Unfortunately I was hoping to at least get something in before I left, at least about Toradora! (I quite enjoyed the final episode, and the penultimate episode, and the one before the penultimate episode, and so on back to the first episode), as I’ve a thought or two that probably needs to be put into text before the moment passes (plus figuring out if the spinning logo dots are important or if they did that to fool me), but since preparing for a vacation is oftentimes more stressful than the word “vacation” seems to imply, I’ve been unable to.

Maybe I’ll be able to get a post out while I’m gone (there’s a library and we have a really cruddy laptop that can maybe pull off WiFi trickery or at least Notepad and, all else failing, I’m bringing a spiral-bound notebook), but probably not. I feel bad for being somewhat neglectful of this blog anyway (slowblog.jpg seems to be applying ever more to me, it seems; procrastination, what hast thou wrought?), but there’s not much helping it now. If nothing else, the experience of being cooped up with family members for a grueling 32-hour round-trip Drive-A-Thon will simply fuel a desire to hole myself up and pound a keyboard.

By the time you read this, I’ll have left the building (barring the interdiction of Murphy’s Law); but I felt that all three of you who might have cared deserved to at least know why there won’t be anything here for a few weeks. We plan to return on April 5th (next Sunday), but the best-laid plans only go so far.

7 Responses to “It’s Time for the Beach Epiosde of My Life [vacation hiatus]”


  1. 1 Anonymous 29 March 2009 at 12:05 am

    It’s all right if you don’t update- you’re only human! Do what makes you happy.

    Have fun in Florida. :)

  2. 2 Owen S 29 March 2009 at 2:23 am

    A simple “OGT’s Natsu Yasumi! Doki Doki Mizugi Kazoku LOVE Special” would’ve sufficed.

  3. 5 omisyth 30 March 2009 at 3:33 am

    And Omisyth makes three. Prepare for ultimate chillaxation.

  4. 6 Manji88 31 March 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Didn’t it bug you in the last episode of ToraDora! that Taiga abandoned Ryuuji for a year, never seeing or contacting him? That completely ruined the series for me. And I’d enjoyed it so much to that point….

    • 7 OGT 5 April 2009 at 9:57 am

      It knocked me for a loop, but I think it worked. Toradora! wasn’t ever really about doing things the Conventional Way(tm).


Leave a Reply

NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recent Songs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

A Twitter feed, as stipulated in Blogger Law Code Title 10 §135.41(b)

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

