Daughter of Twenty Faces: Welcome Aboard the Flying Pussyfoot! (what?)

I’m pretty sure the filename for this episode was labeled “Daughter of Twenty Faces – 06” but it seems like some prankster has swapped an episode of Baccano! for this episode.

At any rate, the overwheming promise the series showed from the start, what with the quaint episodes of “aww, look at Chiko grow up to be a master thief!” seeming fairly far removed from, well, episode six. I’d noticed a ton of hits for “Daughter of Twenty Faces sometime around when episode six hit the usual places, which probably means that I should have squeezed in time to watch it earlier than I am. Of course, now that I’ve watched it, I’m wondering just why I didn’t watch it the intstant it finished downloading (although, since I only managed to get HD working on my ancient computer two days ago, I was able to see this episode in full HD glory, so that was one benefit). And, having seen it, there is now no reason not to watch this series, as everything has been totally upheaved.

In a way, it was expected: the series was moving entirely too fast in terms of developing Chiko from “innocent girl who really likes mystery stories” into “hard-boiled thief” (that alone took a whopping three episodes), and now we’ve got lots of things going wrong all at once: namely, the death of just about every character in the series, ever. I’m pretty sure Ken is alive, though, unless Japan wants to deny me again with men with eyepatches (Lockon ;___;). It’s also not entirely clear whether or not Twenty Faces himself is alive, although being wrapped by flames is certainly an indication that one may be dead. But, this is anime, so there’s always that slight chance that he’s alive. It doesn’t matter, as the actual plot is about to kick in; namely, Chiko searching the world, either to exact revenge upon a world gone awry, or to find any information that will lead her to Twenty Faces. Or something else entierly. We find out next episode, I presume.

Also, you have to hand it to Chiko. Despite spending most of the episode attacked by Angie (with an axe, no less), she is still incapable of sacrificing her humanity when she’s blown away. Twenty Faces spend most of his screentime in this episode either a) dying or b) talking about how horrible the war was and how inhuman people can be and his Plan to Save the World (by Installing Himself in Charge of It), and, of course, his need to have someone to succeed him, which Chiko overhears. She is apparently pretty dense, as she immediately thinks “man I wish I were his successor”, as if she weren’t already. At any rate, by reaching for Angie as she flies off the train towards a certain death, Chiko demonstrates that she understands that just because someone is trying to kill you doesn’t necessarily mean you have to reciprocate, or deny them humanity. Chiko even had a great chance to grab Angie’s axe when it landed right in front of her face, and yet she didn’t: the entire battle was Angie on the offensive and Chiko merely evading her attacks (although I think she got a couple kicks in here and there, but they were defensive kicks). It’s an odd kind of humanity to have, one that restrains you from killing someone who is obviously trying to kill you, and even feeling regret when they die while you’re trying to save them.

What implications this will have for later episode and the rest of the series remains to be seen. Daughter of Twenty Faces was already on my A-list after the first 5 episodes; episode 6 merely cements that it’s going to stay there.

And I still want my Detective Girls. The ED will be hilariously out of place until they show up and start detecting. And they better wear that hat Sherlock Holmes wears, and they better wear it all the time.

8 Responses to “Daughter of Twenty Faces: Welcome Aboard the Flying Pussyfoot! (what?)”


  1. 1 Mike 24 May 2008 at 1:57 am

    I’m with you 100% on how awesome this was.

    I had this feeling that 20 Faces really should have done something sooner if he could have hurt Tiger that easily, but maybe (cue LeDouche) it’s all in the plan. No matter what, this is the episode we’ve been waiting for and it was suitably awesome.

    And yes — when will my detective girls appear?

  2. 2 ldrn 24 May 2008 at 3:23 am

    Haha, awesome comments about the detective girls.

  3. 3 boo 24 May 2008 at 6:42 am

    Twenty Faces ain’t dead. Him doing a pyro magic act in the circus should be enough of a clue.

  4. 4 Sagacious1 24 May 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Yes! I love the title! I would’ve killed for a Rail Tracer cameo, but what can you do.

    Anyway, I had a feeling something like this was going to happen, given the clues in the OP and ED…but, man, somehow it still took me by surprise. The only thing that ticked me off a bit was that 20-Faces could’ve leaped to the other train cart after he unhinged the link, but instead he makes no effort to avoid going down in flames. I’m guessing he’s probably alive too, or that scene just doesn’t feel right. Good call on the pyro circus act, Boo.

    I can’t wait to see grown up Chiko running the show from here on.

  5. 6 rroknedaj 25 May 2008 at 6:23 am

    Yandere indeed,I got that exact vibe you did when her face distorted in ep 5.

    Anyway, this episode was quite a shocker for me too. A bit abrupt but still emotionally capturing,all in all a great way to start the remainder of the series.

  6. 7 King 25 June 2013 at 4:19 am

    Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a
    blog post or vice-versa? My blog goes over a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

  7. 8 where can i buy youtube likes 18 June 2014 at 5:31 pm

    each time i used to read saller articles or reviews that also clear their
    motive, and that is also happening wuth this paragraph which I am reading now.


Leave a Reply

NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recent Songs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

A Twitter feed, as stipulated in Blogger Law Code Title 10 §135.41(b)

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

