Someday’s Dreamers: Things That Are Important to a Mage

So on an almost random whim, and because, due to the implosion of Geneon, the entire series on DVD cost $30 at TRSI (plenty of copies left! Get yours today!), I picked up Someday’s Dreamers, alias Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto. I’ve meant to watch this series ever since it aired, but I somehow never got around to it. It aired in the crowded time when I was busily watching everything that had already been aired up to that point and that people said was good, which was quite a lot, and so it got overlooked. It’s been on my “check this out sometime” list for a while, and, spur of the moment, I decided to go for it. And now, after episode 2, I am glad I did this. I’ll be honest, I’m entirely a sucker for this kind of slow-paced slice-of-life series, but this is quite an exceptional slice-of-life series. Dare I invoke the potentially lethal Kamichu! comparison? It does, after all, seem to be a direct predecessor.

But first, a bit about the series to get you situated. Kikuchi Yume, your average country 17 year old girl, isn’t actually average. Instead, she was born with the ability to use Power (mahou). This, of course, makes her a mage, and, in this alternate universe, mages are strictly regulated by the Bureau of Mage Labor. For instance, we can’t have mages running around creating money out of thin air, can we? (I will give you three guesses as to what Yume does in the first episode, and the first two don’t count) So, Yume is sent, over the summer, to Tokyo to do intensive mage training.

It’s the perfect set-up for a slice-of-life series. In any slice-of-life series, you have to have a charming or otherwise interesting main character, be they Ginko from Mushishi or, in this case, Yume. Image of Yume showing off her Power:

It’s kind of hard to get a good look at her from there, but flashy magic powers are always fun to look at.

Yes, she has three ahoge. In fact, she seemingly deliberately encourages the development of the ahoge, as there are scenes where she does not have the triahoge. She is extremely warm, friendly, and all sorts of other things slice-of-life heroines should be.

The other key element of slice-of-life is the mood it generates, and Someday’s Dreamers creates an extremely effective calm mood. I looked up the director and I was fairly surprised: it’s Yamada Norie (which I cannot tell whether this is a male or female name, or possibly both; I’m going to presume female), who directed things like Boys Be…, Ai Yori Aoshi, and Zegapain (one of these things is not like the other…). The Ai Yori Aoshi credit, after seeing this series, makes sense–Ai Yori Aoshi is a series I have mixed feelings about  due to not finishing it, and am still unsure whether or not I should rewatch and complete it, but I can certainly see parallels from my vague memories of especially the first 4 episodes of Ai Yori Aoshi. Except there’s less nudity.

And the character art–oh, the character art. The original artist for the manga version, Yoshizuki Kumichi, did the DVD covers, and, upon opening the package and gazing upon the DVD covers, all I could think was “this is beautiful.” Yoshizuki’s art is soft and gentle and completely unassuming, and an extreme pleasure to simply look at. I found it difficult to decide which side of the cover to face outside, as I liked all six of the possibilities. The art in the anime is, of course, much simpler, but the character designer did an excellent job of capturing the feel of Yoshizuki’s original designs, and it’s relatively well-animated thus far.

I’ve only seen two episodes, so there’s not much else to report. The writing is quite good thus far, and watching these two episodes, I’ve found myself getting caught up in the moment and just relaxing, and appreciating Yume being her cute self. It’s a genuine kind of cute, rather than a forced cute (her seiyuu, Miyazaki Aoi, has a voice that could hardly be described as “cute”, but one which fits nevertheless), and I appreciate that. Cute isn’t cute when it’s crammed down your throat, a la Moetan, but in Someday’s Dreamers there is nothing forceful about anything in the series. And that’s a very good thing.

2 Responses to “Someday’s Dreamers: Things That Are Important to a Mage”


  1. 1 ^^remilia^^ 4 April 2008 at 12:52 am

    You haven’t happened to have visited the artist’s website in the past, have you? I’ve been a fan of this artist ever since Yume-mahou, and have been using various art from tuchinoko’s website as wallpaper for years…

    Either way, it’s good to see this series getting some love. It’s so… nice!

  2. 2 Faye 4 April 2008 at 3:28 am

    I thought i was going to like this more than i did. The only problem i had with it, is that it’s very moralistic, which doesn’t show in the first episodes from what i remember. So that becomes quite forceful later on.
    I mean, this might of been just a problem with me, i’m not sure. But everything else was really good.


Leave a Reply

NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recent Songs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

