The Mysterious Enigma of Why I Like Nena Trinity (when no one else does)

ALTERNATIVE TITLE THAT THE ASTUTE READER WILL CONTEXTUALLY PICK UP WITHOUT A SECOND THOUGHT: feeble excuse to post Nena Trinity fanart. Again.

It is a mysterious enigma, though. She’s been compared to Fllay Allster from Mobile Suit Gundam SEED, on the basis that they’re both, pardon my French, crazy-ass bitches. Really crazy-ass bitches. The Colossus of Rhodes of crazy-ass bitches. Yet Fllay didn’t get my engine revving in the “oh god this girl” department, and Nena is not only revving the engine, but shoving me out of the driver’s seat into the passenger’s side, disengaging the parking brake, and gunning it full-blast down the street. Yes. That kind of “oh god this girl.”

So why the difference? First, Fllay and Nena aren’t the same kind of crazy. Fllay was meant to be a cruel manipulator of emotions, someone you despised and detested throughout the series. That didn’t stop some people from proclaiming her the best character in SEED. From the perspective of a character, Fllay was effective in being enough of a cruel manipulating bitch to tease out more interpersonal drama all throughout the series. I’d have to watch the series again to be a better judge of how effective the writers were using this for added melodrama power (I seem to remember her plotline getting a bit forced towards the end, but that may just be hazy memory), but I do remember that she very effectively made the viewer loathe every moment she was on the screen. It was like Madoka from Full Moon o Sagashite all over again: every time you see her face, you shake your fish at the screen and shout “Go away!” at the top of your lungs (thereby waking up other members of your household/apartments, because this is without a doubt occuring at 3am on a Saturday night/Sunday morning). She’s a character you loathe.

Nena Trinity, on the other hand, is potentially even crazier than Fllay. I mean, she blew up an entire wedding for no reason, because she felt like it, and it amused her. She, too, isn’t a character you’re supposed to love–but she is one you’re supposed to love to hate. Unlike Fllay, she’s deliciously crazy–she’s extremely impulsive and impatient, she takes great delight in killing (although not as much as the late and [un?]lamented Michael, who was also crazy, but he isn’t a girl, so I don’t care at this juncture), and so forth. The thing is, even though yo’re supposed to hate her, and love hating her, Mizushima still manages to make you feel sorry for her when both her brothers are killed in front of her eyes. Or, well, at least I felt sorry for her; I’m rather biased in this regard, so your mileage may have varied. She isn’t a character without viewer sympathy. Maybe it’s just a matter of taste, but I think Nena is much, much better in the likability department. She’s inhumanly crazy, but that just makes the shock of her brother’s deaths even more horrifying. I have the nagging feeling that Nena wasn’t killed for a deeper reason than Mizushima not wanting to kill off a character voiced by the one and only Kugimeister, but rather to keep her around to redeem her character through her subsequent actions. We won’t find out until this fall, sadly, but as long as she still lives, there’s hope for her to become a better person.

There’s this, and then there’s the fact that I suffer terribly from Kugimiya Disease. There is no cure. Tread carefully in the waters of anime, my friends: it’s highly contagious.

22 Responses to “The Mysterious Enigma of Why I Like Nena Trinity (when no one else does)”


  1. 1 Faye 24 March 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I felt sorry for her too (but i liked her brothers, especially Johann, no suprise there >_<). I’m glad that at least one Trinity is still alive.

    But you know, all this Nena hate, is way off the mark. Nena’s Haro is the one people should dislike more, i mean he told Lockon’s Haro to ‘got to hell’ and headbutted him away. Took me quite a while to actually get over that. Haro drama indeed.

  2. 2 OGT 24 March 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Evil Satanic Haro is evil indeed.

  3. 3 The Animanachronism 24 March 2008 at 8:20 pm

    (Haros: the only reason I watch Gundam. Not.)

    I for one am hoping for a Nena redemption plotline. Also, for recognising that 00 is written and directed by people rather than by a nebulous entity called ‘Sunrise’, many thanks. The more bloggers talk about directors and scriptwriters by name the better.

  4. 4 rah-rah 24 March 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Oh man. HAROS ON JERRY SPRINGER. “My brother forgot me and ran off with some doods”. STAGE FIGHT. ZERO G STAGE FIGHT. Though the stage hands would have to throw the chairs.

  5. 5 OVA 3 May 2008 at 8:55 am

    If I’m not mistaken… Nena was the Trinity Miester who spitefully, with absolutely no regard for innocent human life, destroyed that wedding for her own self-righteous indignation? At first she seemed to be a somewhat strange character, over-zealous, but insightfully, this second season of Gundam OO, will no doubt treat Nena with some sort of punishment and possibly, at some point, as she is “in love” with Setsuna, she may become a Gundam Miester. Either way she is goin to have to face the ‘evil’ that she had commited throughout the show so far.

    As you can tell, I for one, am not a fan of Nena. I liked her at first, she seemed almost childish, but it was when her true colours began to shine, that my resentment of the character began to take effect and is it jus me or was her oldest brother somewhat more sympathetic, more sain, the only Trinity who seemed conscienciously human?

  6. 6 Catana 7 July 2008 at 1:22 pm

    My cruel heart cried with joy, as her stupid siblings met before her eyes a meaningless demise. The bitch deserved it at fullest. I long now for her gruesome, mutilating, slow death. A very special delight would be for me, if she would cry from fear and beg for mercy or rescue.
    I’m evil, but i feel just and happy. So ironic. Halleluya just showed my mirror image.

  7. 8 Kenji 27 July 2008 at 9:51 pm

    I don’t like Fllay, but I do consider her the character with the most potential in Gundam SEED, which I’ve been playing with in my fanfic efforts. :P Unfortunately, like the Winged Whale, she was just kinda dragged along in the shameless copy/update-but-not-upgrade of the 1979 series. Her potential was squandered by the writing staff: she really coulda gone places.

    Nena has potential, too, since she’s the youngest of Team Trinity and the one with the most room for growth, which I think is why she lived. The other two (especially Michael) finished their development by the time Ali killed them… beyond that point, they would’ve been baggage.

    What they did was terrible, most definitely terrorism, but they did believe in it (especially Johann), which meant that I did feel sorry for them when Ali killed them. Bad as they were, they didn’t deserve that kind of calculated, mocking brutality. When my roomie saw that scene, and he was completely aware of the Trinitys and their actions, he said, “My God… he’s a monster!”

    I kinda like Nena, myself, most likely ‘cuz she’s hot, and for that I’ll probably get the Heroine DX figure (like the one I have of Fllay… evidently, I get the Gundam girls nobody likes). I am genuinely interested in seeing where the character goes, though. Hell yeah for Season 2!!

  8. 9 Rock 3 September 2008 at 10:07 am

    I hate that bitch! the only reason because all of you like that bitch is because all of you are FUCKING PERVERTS! ACCEPT IT! IF SHE WOULD UGLY THEN ALL OF YOU SHOUDN’T LIKE IT!
    I want to kill that bitch with my hands, at least I’m sure that she will die in the end, louise need to kill her as a final boss.
    GO LOUISE GO SAIJI!

  9. 10 Hikki 24 November 2008 at 1:22 am

    I don’t get how people can hate Nena, either. She’s batshit insane and that’s what’s lovable about her.

  10. 11 Paragon 1 December 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Ya…she’s hot. I like her because she goes for what she wants,,that’s kwel. I guess also cause she is young and has a lot of potential.

  11. 12 Solly Rushadale 3 December 2008 at 7:45 am

    I got upset when she blew up the wedding, but I didn’t start hating her. It was obvious from the start that something wasn’t quite right with the girl. (That look in her eyes when she told Setsuna not to make her mad? Yeah. Actually, that was the moment I starting really loving her)

    But she’s my favorite character for a real simple reason. Neena… she is me (minus the red hair, freckles and killing people for the lulz)

    So if I ever started hating her, it’d be like hating myself.

  12. 13 DObber 26 December 2008 at 5:13 pm

    There is no way i can hate her, she is pretty cool, especially when she blow up the weeding

  13. 14 Maddie 30 December 2008 at 8:06 pm

    I love Nena XD Coz’ she reminded me of Asuka from Evangelion lolz and she is an interesting character! There’s a reason why she is still alive in Gundam 00!

  14. 15 Olivia 10 July 2009 at 5:24 am

    I hate her,i dunno how to discribe just i really hate her

  15. 16 Zero Reqrium 30 July 2009 at 2:47 am

    Oh Man, where to begin. I love everything about Nena. I fell I love with her the moment she called Setsuna “Bitching Crazy”. I even cheered after she blew away all the people at the wedding. I’m asking you to be my judge; am I a heartless bastard for cheering on a mass murderer and a terrorist. And the fact that she is totally nuts just makes her more and more awesome. Ever since her debut, I’ve been begging for her to get more screen time. I think the fact that she is a total hottie just ads to her character. Whatever, there it was!!! I like hot anime chicks that are insane. Critisize me if you want to waste time, but I love her every move. I can even stand the evil Haro for the sake of her character.
    And for some reason I can’t quite fathom, she reminds me of Kallen Stadfeld from code geass. Especially if you think of a Kallen without inhibitions.

  16. 17 Gray Fullbuster 17 May 2010 at 6:38 am

    I REALLY EFFIN HATE NENA, She killed my favorite character, Wang Liu Mei, I dont understand why people hated her so much. She’s pretty, well she did help some enemies but she is not evil, She helped Celestial Beings as well, Why hate her? in the end she helped them as well.

    Of all Trinity, I hate nena, I liked her at first, being Setsuna’s First kiss at all, but what the hell!? Johann Being left out of the trinity is better. Still, NENA IS A BITCH YEA YEA!!! U BITCH WHY DID YOU KILL Wang Liu Mei! D:<

    oh im a fanboy of wang liu mei, for those haters: STFU Suckaz

    @Zero Requiem, actually I didnt hate the part of the wedding destruction. I really didnt care about that part o_O but killing Wang Liu Mei and attacking Halevy made me hate her so much shes a bitch. She's not really pretty as well, she has FUCKIN freckles!! Shes FUCKIN FUGLY!!

    oh If i am Louise, I wont kill her in one blast, Torturing her would be a pleasure.

    • 18 javiergo5 27 August 2011 at 5:20 pm

      your an idiot and sure your the ugly one! The fact she has freckles doenst make her ugly, you fuking moron!! She really beatiful, sexy and cool!!

  17. 19 Sparrowsabre7 13 September 2011 at 3:22 pm

    I don’t hate her because she’s a total psycho-bitch who blew up a wedding (my favourite character is Ali after all) I hate her because she acts like a child while doing it, a spoiled, petulant brat of a character who acts like she should be loveable. Ali may be an evil son of a bitch with zero remorse for his actions, but at least he’s honest about it in a “I’m really fucking evil and I just love murdering the shit out of everything” rather than Nena who thinks she’s in the right despite blowing up a wedding because “they’re having fun while we’re working.”

    She got what was coming to her and I enjoyed every second >=D

  18. 20 OBJECTION! 22 February 2012 at 11:38 pm

    ^ OK, you need to straighten your priorities. Ali is far, FAR worse than Nena ever was. “Honesty” does not BEGIN to excuse the crap he pulls.

    And if you enjoyed every second of someone’s suffering, then no wonder Ali is your favorite character; you’re a sadistic beast like him!

  19. 21 Bad engrish 4 July 2012 at 9:24 pm

    soo… you like crazy “happy-trigger” killer bitches? Are you OK? Seriously.

    or you like all “urushai urushai!!” characters?

    Two words for you: “Mina Carmine” Like Nena, but without the crazy murder behavior.

    P.D.: Poor Fllay. Compared with that “human-almost-machine-almost-clone-monster-murder…” Now I understand why she hates cordiinnovators.

    • 22 What was Nena's quote again? 2 December 2012 at 7:09 pm

      Mehna Carmine was a TERRIBLE fanservice character that we would have been better without. She might have looked a tiny bit like Nena but she lacked everything else that made Nena great. What was worse, with Carmine they seemed to think they were pandering to the Nena fans while in reality Mehna pissed off a lot of people. And what was that crap with pairing Mehna up with that disgusting Billy?

      I like Nena because she had an interesting personality and maybe because she was supposed to make us hate her. I really dislike when a show tries to force its viewers to choose a particular side.

      Nena was crazy but that didn’t make her a bad person nor a bad character, in fact it was what made her so likeable I think.


Leave a Reply

NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recent Songs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

A Twitter feed, as stipulated in Blogger Law Code Title 10 §135.41(b)

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

