How NOT To Stop Bullying, Lesson One

Do not stab bully with a screwdriver. This is counterproductive.

I feel very, very unclean right now. I think I need to have a mini-Passover or something. I didn’t think Shigofumi would be able to top the second episode’s father-selling-daughters-for-sex-and-money revelation, or would even try to top it.

It did.

Episode 6 was horrifyingly uncomfortable to watch, and i was never really bullied that much in school. Maybe it was because I was never bullied in school that made it so uncomfortable to watch. The “bullying is bad” storyline has been made before, of course, countless times, but that’s unimportant as Shigofumi does a really good number showing the brutal effects of bullying, in part because the writers aren’t trying to shy away from the, well, brutal. From people giving horrible “sympathy” to the bullied, merely making their problem worse unto death, and then turning the tables on the somewhat hapless bystander, and then hapless bystander turning the tables AGAIN. It was quite a ride.

The clever mechanic of letting Morishita see inside the head of Kikugawa through the anonymity of the Internet was a clever device, as it lets the bullier (even if a relatively passive one) get a glimpse inside the mind of the buillied. Of course, then again, he feels the pain himself later on, and responds in a quite different manner than the passive Kikugawa. Everything about this episode screamed “quality” at me while I was watching it, although I was too busy feeling icky to quite properly notice. I wasn’t even planning to talk about it here, but, uh, well, you see how well that went.

true tears may be my favorite series of this season, but Shigofumi is getting a close second, just for this. I’m surprised winter season has been so good–normally, there’s not much to watch. Maybe I’ve changed, or maybe this is just an unusual winter season. Whatever it is, I think 2008 will be a wild year.

4 Responses to “How NOT To Stop Bullying, Lesson One”


  1. 1 therethere 22 February 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Hmm, not to sound too morbid or anything but even though I know it was wrong, I still felt a vague sense of satisfaction upon seeing Morishita stab the screwdriver through. Granted, it obviously won’t solve the overall problem but those bullies looked like they were reaping lots of bad karma anyways, so they probably got what they deserved, imo. I mean, the most extensive bullying I’ve seen, when I went to high school, was maybe getting teased a lot verbally and getting some snowballs thrown. I’d think you have to be somewhat psychopathic/sadistic in order to make a guy walk across an open beam on like the second or third floor of a building.

  2. 2 OGT 22 February 2008 at 9:57 pm

    They did deserve it, but the question raised by that is: how does one fight a sadistic person such as them? Logic and reason don’t seem to work very well, but is stabbing them with a construction implement the right solution? Is there a more peaceful way to end the solution? Bullies themselves are oftentimes very troubled people, so maybe all they needed was a couple extra hugs from their mother or something similarly “minor” several years previous.

  3. 3 therethere 24 February 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Well, if it had not reached this point, I would say that the best solution would be to just simply ignore them. Bullies tend to thrive on getting a reaction from their victims so if the victim just gives off an indifferent attitude from the start, generally they will start to lose interest and just go away.

  4. 4 OGT 24 February 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Ignoring the perpetrators is a patch; they shouldn’t be bullying in the first place. But that’s just my opinion, and humans are humans, after all.


Leave a Reply

NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recent Songs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

A Twitter feed, as stipulated in Blogger Law Code Title 10 §135.41(b)

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

