Ghost Hound: I have no idea

Okay, so I’ve seen six episodes of Ghost Hound so far. I still have no idea what’s going on.

Since the Serial Experiments Lain director is directing, I should probably have expected that. But I haven’t seen Lain, or Texhnolyze, or any of those other bizarre “no one knows what’s going on” anime, so I didn’t really know what to expect. I expected something more spine-tingling creepy, and I got…Ghost Hound.

That said, it’s not a bad anime. The use of sound effects and non-musically played instruments is pretty cool, as many other bloggers have noted. The plot (what little we have of it) is interesting enough, but unfortunately I think the anime is more about the atmospherics than the actual plot. And the atmospherics are fine, but I don’t think they’re my kind of atmospherics. I think maybe the main cause of this is that, again, I was expecting something more like a good ghost story (I adored Ghost Hunt, for example, for this reason).

I’ll probably continue to watch it–I need to give more Production I.G. shows a fair shot, but they always seem to end up being something that just doesn’t grip me the way other studios’ anime tends to. Possibly my “good anime detection” sense is miscalibrated.

I am, however, totally baselessly looking forward to Toshokan Sensou, and I hope they don’t mess it up. Libraries fielding private armies to take back the right of free speech–how is that NOT awesome?

1 Response to “Ghost Hound: I have no idea”


  1. 1 shiro 5 December 2007 at 6:26 pm

    At the moment i guess we’re supposed to know what’s going on — i mean yeah, we have the basic outline, and i’ve been following that since the first episode. Also, just from the past episodes alone, i can see where this is going — some hints have been dropped and such.


Leave a Reply

NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recent Songs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

