Tarou and Miyako’s Secret Love Tryst in the Woods

They seem to have lots of these. Eagerly awaiting romance subplot.

Ghost Hound continues to please me; I think in some ways it’s a kind of more sinister Zettai Shounen: you’ve got the same glacial, relaxed pacing, mysterious events surrounding the main characters, and oddball background music (or, in Ghost Hound’s case, no music at all but sound effects). The two invoke similar moods at times, but Ghost Hound is laced with that edge of creepiness that Zettai Shounen didn’t have. Not that it needed it, because it was still a good series, but there you go.

I was talking with a friend of mine who accused the series of being “over-produced”, a term which I hadn’t heard before, but which he explained meant that the series was trying to appeal to as broad an audience as it possibly could, sapping the soul of the creator out of it. I don’t think he’s right; checking online, the term “over-produced” gets applied to films like Memoirs of a Geisha and Alexander and other kinds of movies I’ve never seen that had enormous pre-release studio-generated hype and were an attempt to snipe the Academy Awards, at which they failed horribly. Call me crazy, but I don’t get this feeling from Ghost Hound. It is the 10th anniversary series of Production I.G., after all, so yes, it has a high production budget, and it certainly looks very good, but I think the series has only improved over time. The first few episodes weren’t especially enthralling, I will grant everyone that, but I felt somehow oddly compelled to watch more, and the series has opened itself up since then. I think my friend was going by the first several lacklustre episodes, for which I can’t fault him much, but he’s still wrong. The series clearly isn’t trying to grab as many demographics as it possibly can–it’s far too unlike Higurashi no Naku Koro ni to really be effective at that. The only “cute girl” character we’ve got is Miyako, who is suitably cute, but there’s no obvious otaku-bait moments, which I would take as a sign of “over-production” in the “grab every demographic” sense. Plus, no-one is watching it. Another reason it’s like Zettai Shounen! So watch it already! But you probably are! Exclamation points!

7 Responses to “Tarou and Miyako’s Secret Love Tryst in the Woods”


  1. 1 rah-rah 21 February 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Well, first thing I was to say is, besides Gundam 00 and CLANNAD, this is one of the most popular shows of the past fall season, so I think it’s kinda odd that you say NO ONE is watching it. Besides, the fangirls love it (mostly Masayuki, cause…well he’s an ass and doesn’t even try to hide it). Also, it’s a bit unfair to compare it to higurashi, since at this point, all higurashi has going for it *at all* is the cute girls, since it’s story went to hell in kai, and was just really badly written. Of course, that doesn’t stop it from being a huge franchise, but leave that to the power of fanboys. Ghost Hound is actually trying to be psychological horror/SF, and succededing at it. Also, as for overproduced, the person who said that doesn’t know what he is talking about, espically since this show feels a lot more “warm and inviting” then most of pro IG’s shows. Could be the Kamichu animation director.

  2. 2 OGT 21 February 2008 at 10:23 pm

    I, uh, wasn’t comparing Ghost Hound and Higurashi. I was pointing out that Ghost Hound wasn’t using the tricks that Higurashi used to gain an audience weren’t being used at all, which is hardly a comparison, but merely listing an example.

  3. 3 The Great Doctor Zin 23 February 2008 at 11:55 pm

    I don’t see why anyone would call Ghost Hound over-produced when Dragonaut is airing.

  4. 4 rah2 26 February 2008 at 3:57 am

    Truth. That and Dragonaut is just…bad. Really really bad. I mean, I stopped watching at around 15, but now I see Kazuki with a nose bridge patch trying to look cool…and it’s to hide a TINY SCAR. Why Gonzo.

  5. 5 Sick 7 March 2008 at 1:21 am

    Ghost Hound is far from over produced. High production values become “over produced” when the shows sucks. Ghost Hound sucks about as much as a diehard nun, so I don’t know where your friend got that one from.

  6. 6 Sick 7 March 2008 at 1:21 am

    Well, thats assuming theres no after-hours freaky-deaky going down in the monastery.

  7. 7 OGT 7 March 2008 at 1:40 am

    Fun fact: mentioned friend picked Ghost Hound back up and likes it a bit more now, I think.

    Happy endings for everyone!


Leave a Reply

NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recently Watched Anime

  • Yuyushiki 1 July 2013
  • Mobile Police Patlabor 1 July 2013
  • Mobile Police Patlabor 26 June 2013
  • Mobile Police Patlabor 26 June 2013
  • Mobile Police Patlabor 22 June 2013

RSS Recently Read Manga

  • Limit - Manga
  • JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 3: Stardust Crusaders - Manga
  • JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 2: Battle Tendency - Manga
  • JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 1: Phantom Blood - Manga
  • Full Moon ni Sasayaite - Manga

A Twitter feed, as stipulated in Blogger Law Code Title 10 §135.41(b)

  • Стрельба в Орегоне: убит стрелок, погиб один школьник 1 hour ago
  • Правительство разморозит пенсионные накопления в 2015 году 5 hours ago
  • Президент Украины распустил Верховную раду 8 hours ago

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

