Archive for January 26th, 2008

Miyako Smiles More, Sure Sign of Imminent Earthly Peril

I swear, Miyako manages to be both cute and creepy at the same time. How does she do it?

Ghost Hound has remarkably improved since it started, when it was on the list of “intriguing yet somewhat uninteresting shows” from the fall season. It apparently just needed some leg room to set things up, as the plot (which we still don’t know much about, or what relation Kakuriko has to the real world, the plot, or anything else in existence) is moving right along towards the ineffable conclusion. I like the atmosphere it’s got–slightly creepy in spots, albeit nothing to have nightmares over; general “slice of life” feel, if a very weird life; and a touch of levity to counteract all the seriousness that’s going on. Throw in some subtle touches of character development that come close to Zettai Shounen levels (I’m not exactly sure what Zettai Shounen levels are, but anyone who’s seen both that and Ghost Hound probably know what I’m talking about, and hopefully have more vocabulary than I do on the matter) and you’ve got yourself a mix for a good show. I think I’ll wait until the whole thing’s over before I start judging it any more than I already have.

Halfway through, I still don’t know whether this and similar shows are quite for me, but I’m enjoying Ghost Hound well enough. I’m guessing I just don’t like atmospheric/mood pieces without some plot- or character-driven underpinnings to carry me through, but Ghost Hound has got some interesting things going on in the character side of things. I’m glad Production I.G. kind of forgot about making very pretty but very boring action-heavy material like Ghost in the Shell–they’ve somehow been on a roll with me since Seirei no Moribito premiered, jumping from that to Ghost Hound to Tokyo Marble Chocolate, for chrissakes. I dunno what came over them, but hitherto this point in history the only thing I’ve ever actually liked by them had been the first half of Otogizoshi, and even that wasn’t worth writing home about more than a brief mention in a long letter.

Also, I can’t be the only one thinking Higurashi no Naku Koro ni with all this talk about dams and corpses and so on. Maybe Ghost Hound is a prequel and we’re all about to be invaded by extraterrestrial beings.


NOTICE SHAMELESSLY STOLEN FROM G.K. CHESTERTON

I cannot understand those that take anime seriously, but I can love them, and I do. Out of my love I warn them to keep clear of this blog.

RSS Recently Watched Anime

  • Yuyushiki 1 July 2013
  • Mobile Police Patlabor 1 July 2013
  • Mobile Police Patlabor 26 June 2013
  • Mobile Police Patlabor 26 June 2013
  • Mobile Police Patlabor 22 June 2013

RSS Recently Read Manga

  • Limit - Manga
  • JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 3: Stardust Crusaders - Manga
  • JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 2: Battle Tendency - Manga
  • JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 1: Phantom Blood - Manga
  • Full Moon ni Sasayaite - Manga

A Twitter feed, as stipulated in Blogger Law Code Title 10 §135.41(b)

  • Я не могу сидеть, завтра для меня будут мучения 2 days ago
  • У ТЕБЯ 500 ДРУЗЕЙ ВКОНТАКТЕ, А ПОГУЛЯТЬ НЕСКЕМ! 2 days ago
  • У меня отличные друзья) ❤ 2 days ago

a ridiculously long and only partially organized list of subjects

Pages

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.